Illustration

My Four Basic Illustration Tools

 

There are lots of tools out there for illustration. Some are really cheap and others are more expensive.

Here are the four items I use to create illustrations for my books.

 

A MECHANICAL PENCIL

Isn’t a pencil just a pencil? Well when I started illustrated I used an ordinary HB pencil that you could find at any store. I drew lines that were too thick and difficult to erase. Then I upgraded to a mechanical pencil, which made all the difference in my illustrations. It was easier to use, my drawings were improved and I was able to erase mistakes much easier.
Staedtler Mars Drafting Mechanical Pencils 3 pk, 0.3, 0.5, & 0.7mm widths, 925WP3

These are really cool, because they come in three sizes, 0.3mm, 0.5 mm and 0.7 mm. I use the 0.7mm, but it really gives you a chance to explore and decide which one suits you best.

A SHARPIE

When I started out illustrating I used a fine liner, but ended up with pictures that were too thinly lined and quite disappointing. I really wanted a thick defined line look for my illustrations. I have since purchased a Sharpie and I’m never looking back.
Sharpie Permanent Markers, Fine Point, Black, 12-Pack (30001)

 

A SCANNER

I have to get my drawings onto my computer somehow. I got this really great Canon Maxify Printer after my good old HP one was giving me issues. It’s great for connectivity to my laptop and my phone. It has buttons and touch screen. I was really impressed that I could scan in black, which is really essential for producing great illustration work.* Purchase a printer or a scanner that scans at a resolution of 300 dpi (dots per inch) or more to ensure a superior picture quality.

Canon MAXIFY MB2320 Wireless Office All-In-One Inkjet Printer with Mobile and Tablet Printing, Black

GIMP

Gimp is short for GNU Image Manipulation Program. It is a free to download Photoshop equivalent. It’s really great for sprucing up photos and colouring drawings. It’s the program I use to clean up my illustrations, colour them and save them to my computer.

You can download Gimp here: https://www.gimp.org/downloads/

Please read my next post for a gimp tutorial.

 

*Please note that I am an Amazon Affiliate.

Leave a Reply

