Writing

The Writers Slump

The Writer's Slump.jpg

I’m sure all self-published authors go through a slump. I had a terrible one yesterday. My sales numbers declined hectically and I felt quite worthless, to be honest.

Every writer wants to be the best. I worked for hours and hours on my stories and illustrations and hardly anyone read it. I try not to be hard on myself, because everything takes time. Then some wisdom from my late grandmother came to me. She would always say in Afrikaans (A South African Dialect), “Môre sal die son weer skyn.” Translated as: the sun will shine again tomorrow.

Her words resonated with me so much. It was exactly what I needed. I understand that I have to feel what I’m feeling, all the hurt and anxiety so that I can move on and have a better day tomorrow.

So today is the tomorrow I was talking about yesterday and I really do feel better. Today is another day for me to try and conquer the world one story at a time. I’m not going to have a good day every day, but I will try to remember why I’m on this journey. I’m not here for sales alone; I’m here to build a career one book at a time. I have to keep on writing, keep on drawing, and keep on fighting until I reach my goals. I need to celebrate small victories and take losses in my stride. I am an author.

This path is difficult, if it was easy everyone would be doing it.

Do you go through a writers slump from time to time? How do you snap out of it?

Let me know by commenting below!

 

Love and Blessings,

Lindsay Sign Off

2 thoughts on “The Writers Slump

  1. Reblogged this on and commented:

    Throwback to one of my older posts about writing and self-publishing. Going through a slump and getting out can be a difficult process as a writer and blogger. This post highlights exactly how I was feeling during a difficult time and how I feel from time to time. I hope you enjoy this post and know that you are not alone. ❤

    Like

  2. I’m in a slump right now – because I’m preoccupied with two major life changes, a new job and relocating. I’ve found myself going to my voice-to-text app on my phone, saying aloud the things in my head, or writing them down on paper napkins or scribbling things on notepads. I’ve learned not to force it. If it comes in snippets, it comes in snippets.

    Like

Leave a Reply

