Lindsay's Life

The Importance of Taking a Day

I did something that I have never done before- I put my laptop away. It’s so easy to get lost in work, especially when you work from home. I’ve been working non-stop since I started self-publishing in April and it’s been difficult for me to take a day since then.

 

I started having symptoms of burn out and decided to take a day on Valentine’s Day. This was the first day in a long time that I did nothing work related. No writing. No illustrations. No blogging. No checking my KDP sales or my Author Central account. I just took a day to myself and it was wonderful.

 

It’s so easy for me to work myself to the bone, motivated to give my readers the best book with the best illustrations I can muster. I push myself to breaking point. Going to bed at 2 AM and waking up at 7 AM to start the process again.

 

So here I am, refreshed and renewed. I am ready to take on the world again one word and one illustration at a time.

 

To all writers I would like to say that it’s ok to take a day to yourself; come back to your writing the next day so that you don’t lose momentum. I’m reading so many newspaper articles where people are admitted to hospital for exhaustion. Exhaustion is real and it is serious. The work will always be there tomorrow, but will you?

One thought on “The Importance of Taking a Day

Leave a Reply

