Writing

Writing Wednesday: My Top Six Writing Tips

I know this post comes a little late for Wednesday, but I’ve had such a hectic day so far. I’m so grateful to have a moment to catch my breath and share this post with you.

My top 6 Writing tips.jpg

  1. Start by writing what you know – There must be at least one thing that you are really good at or passionate about. Start There.
  2. Write drunk, edit sober – I may or may not do this. Just lose your inhibitions and write! You can always edit later.
  3. Write everyday – Set aside a time to write every day. Bonus points if you set up a desk, office or writing corner.
  4. Get support – Find a group, start a blog, get a Twitter account, tell a friend or a family member. There’s so much we can learn from others. Writing can be a lonely road and you might need some motivation from time to time.
  5. Don’t let negative feedback get you down – It’s impossible to please everyone. There will be critics, but don’t only focus on that for too long. If you need to take a day; take it! Come back the next day refreshed and ready to write.
  6. Believe in yourself – Believe in your gifts and talents. If you think and believe you can write something exceptional, then half the battle is won.

Bonus tip: Celebrate every small achievement – Celebrate the like or the view on your blog, the sale you made today or any other achievement you can think of. Life is worth celebrating.

 

So get out there and write! I know you can do it.

 

Do you have any writing tips to share?

Don’t be afraid to drop a comment in the box below.

 

Stay Blessed!

Lindsay Sign Off

4 thoughts on “Writing Wednesday: My Top Six Writing Tips

  1. These are great tips Lindsay and I agree with them all. Its so important to write about what you love. I think that’s the key. What I wish for was someone close by who also blogged and shared my passion. Hubby’s great but he doesn’t really get it. The whole WP thing. But I guess that’s why we have a blogging community.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I totally agree with you Miriam! Mr calls himself the WordPress Widower now. 🙂 That’s why I have you. Thanks again for the pep talk earlier. I appreciate it. When you write what you love then it’s as if the words just fall into place, so I definitely agree with you.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

