A - Z Challenge

Quiet! The Baby Is Sleeping

Q.jpg

We had an interesting time with the little one. He had colic, which resulted in a child that hardly slept. This meant that the good old advice ‘sleep when the baby sleeps’ did not apply at all.

998869_641620989241907_969159599_n.jpg

When he slept we had to be extremely quiet, even after the colic symptoms subsided. We would tip toe around the house, the TV would be on the lowest volume possible – it was so bad that we wouldn’t use the microwave or flush the toilet. His room was next to the bathroom and as soon as you flush he would cry.

ebc62e0b7c3e6cf8fcf639bfbdecb70b.jpg

We have wooden floors and my step daughter figured out which of them don’t creak so she would only walk on those when baby slept. Visitors were forced to whisper – it was really bad. Do you blame me though? Sleep was a rare commodity in our house so we would take it in any form we could get.

 

Mr and I decided to go to the cinema for one of our first post-baby dates. I was so excited, because I haven’t seen a movie in a long time. My gran almost gave birth to my uncle at the cinema so she banned me from going there while I was pregnant. We purchased our tickets and snacks. I dumped loads of salt and vinegar flavouring on my popcorn. It rose in a vicious vinegar cloud; hit my nose then the back of my throat and I broke out in a coughing fit. I don’t know why I enjoy when that happens. It is like my brain qualifies that feeling as having enough flavour on the popcorn and allows me to move on to the next phase. We shuffled to find our seats in the semi-empty cinema. I can’t tell you what we watched – probably some action thing that Mr wanted to watch. I wrestled the large red foam cup into the tiny cup holder, the lights dimmed and the movie started. Just like that a wave of noise from the speakers hit me. I leaned to Mr and said “Can you please turn the volume down, the baby is sleeping.”

 

He was still a bit jumpy after the colicky phase ended, but we were able to resume life at a normal noise level soon afterwards. Now the little one is the source of most of the noise in our home.

 

Did you have to keep quiet after baby came along? Were you able to resume life as usual? Do you have a funny baby story you’d like to share?  Let me know!

I’d love to hear from you.

 

Love and Blessings,

Lindsay Sign Off

13 thoughts on “Quiet! The Baby Is Sleeping

  1. I have 2 extremely light sleepers. Right now I have to hold my 18 month old while he sleeps and keep my other 2 LOUD boys quiet. There are rare occasions that I can lay my 18 month old down to sleep but it takes me to be a quiet acrobatic ninja to sneak away and then I have about 30 minutes before he realizes he isn’t being held. It’s frustrating but I keep saying ‘this too shall pass ‘.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so glad you can relate. Don’t you hate when you get your hand caught under the sleeping baby and you wish you could just detatch it so that baby would continue sleeping. We’ve all turned into ninjas. It will pass 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. At first, then we got smart and put a radio in his room with just the sports channel. To this day that kid will drop like a rock when The Sports Animal comes on the radio in the car!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

