A - Z Challenge

Recovery

R.jpg

This post should be renamed as Thank Goodness for Mr. I swear I wouldn’t have recovered postpartum without him.

DSC01915.JPG

The epidural kicked in almost instantly. The nurse motioned me to lie down and I felt the medication rushing down my spine to my legs until I couldn’t feel them anymore. I didn’t mind this as much as I minded the drip, because I have a fear of needles. I hate the feeling and I feel nauseas just thinking and writing about it now. So it is ironic that I’m having a C-section, considering all the needles involved in the entire process (the things we do for our kids). I started some nervous babble with Mr to calm my nerves while my gynaecologist and her colleagues got to work. I feel them delivering the baby, the closest descriptive word for it is tugging and there he was. My son. I knew something was odd, because his skin was blue. ‘Do all babies look like this?’ I thought. Mr cut his umbilical cord and off he and the little one disappeared with the paediatrician. I had no idea that this wasn’t normal. They closed the incision and lift me from the one bed to the other. I look at my legs, but they don’t look like my legs. They don’t look like anyone’s legs. They are akin to the gelatinous wobble of raw chicken drumsticks as you lift them from the punnet. I’m wheeled to the recovery room and Mr enters about twenty minutes later. “Can I see my baby now?” I asked, but I would only be able to see him three days later. The doctor gives me the all clear and I’m off to my hospital room for the next five days.

DSC01964.JPG

Mr was a big help in my recovery. I had no idea how difficult it would be to do everyday things immediately after the C-section. The droplets of water from the shower felt like tiny daggers on my scar, so I stopped and sponge bathed that area until it healed sufficiently for me to shower comfortably again. I would have loved to bath, but I wouldn’t be able to get out of the bath – I could hardly get my body out of bed. He would brush and tie up my hair, because I was unable to lift my arm above my head. He would pick up the baby and bath him. He would massage and brush my C-section scar. He would heat up the freezer meals I had cooked a month before delivery. He made sure I didn’t do too much so that I could make a full recovery. He coddled and cooed the little one when he cried. He helped so much and I am so grateful and thankful to have him in my life.

 

Do you have any recovery tips that you’d like to share? Let me know by commenting below.

 

Love and Blessings,

Lindsay Sign Off

21 thoughts on “Recovery

  1. Lindsay, I don’t have any recovery tips, and nor did I have a C -section or epidural. But, what I will say is your Mr, is an absolute star, and was a star when your little one was born and throughout your recovery. You are blessed. I often wondered with having an epidural, what you would actually feel, and now I know. I think any form of birth is an overwhelming experience and beautiful at the same time. x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

