Lindsay's Life

Stumbled Upon: No, Dear Husband and Kids, You’re Not Cleaning “for” Me

I found this post on Facebook. It’s written by , a Babble contributer.

Her post No, Dear Husband and Kids, You’re Not Cleaning “for” Me highlights how I feel sometimes as a stay and work at home mom.

It often feels like cleaning is my responsibility alone and it’s everyone else’s responsibility to make a mess for me to clean. Sounds unfair, doesn’t it?

It isn’t that I mind cleaning most of the time, but some days are extremely busy and I can’t seem to keep up then I need Mr to step in and help – instead of pointing out that there is a mountain of dishes in the sink. I didn’t create all those dishes by myself, did I?

I often feel guilty asking him for help, because it is often met with a sigh or a “Can I do it later?”, but when he wants me to do something I have to do it now. So I resort to doing things when ever I get around to it.

 

That is why this post resonated with me. Give it a read:

No, Dear Husband and Kids, You’re Not Cleaning “for” Me

 

Let me know what you think of the post.

Does your husband/partner help you around the house? I’d love to hear from you!

 

Love and Blessings,

Lindsay Sign Off

 

 

 

 

16 thoughts on “Stumbled Upon: No, Dear Husband and Kids, You’re Not Cleaning “for” Me

  1. As a SAHM I have struggled with your same issue for years. Then I realized I was not teaching my children how to care for a home and themselves. My attitude changed quickly. We now do family cleaning sessions and they are responsible for their laundry and rooms. I am not a maid, I am the mommy.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a brilliant post. She really did hit the nail on the head. Cleaning is everyone’s responsibility but if we don’t start our kids young they’ll always expect us to clean up after them. I started a bit late but now we have a set routine where (at least most nights) I cook, my daughter washes the dishes and my son drys them. Hubbs also helps out in other ways. And he cooks too occasionally. We share the load (mostly) though I still find myself nagging in lots of other areas. And feeling like a bit of the laundry maid. Overall we do ok. 🙂
    Hope you’re enjoying your Sunday Lindsay.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So sorry that I took so long to reply. The internet has been down (probably a result of the storm). That means there is hope for me yet. Mr did the dishes tonight. He must have read this blog post. hehe:)

      Like

Leave a Reply

