A - Z Challenge

Teething

T.jpg

This is my 200th Blog Post so Hip Hip Hooray to me! I had no idea it would come so soon. Let’s get to it, shall we?

f52bec28f57bcaf4650882d860e0042a.jpg

My son contracted Bronchitis at 2 ½ months old, which led to us visiting the doctor for some antibiotics. He had been scratching in his mouth from 2 months old and I was convinced he was too young to be teething – even the doctor was convinced he was too young. Lo and behold, he had popped out not one, but two teeth in the same week of the doctor’s visit.

 

He was far too young to eat pancakes (it’s a tradition we have here. When a child ‘cuts’ his or her first teeth their mom makes pancakes for them to eat). I made pancakes none the less, my parents attended the party and we oohed and aahed At his brand new pearly whites.

 

The little one was a relentless teether, he couldn’t wait for the colic to end so that the teething could begin. So we were thrown from the frying pan into the proverbial fire. The great thing about his teething was that he had most of his teeth by the time he was a year and a half old.

 

This wasn’t a fun time. My younger cousins teethed with no issues at all, unlike my son. He contracted teething pimples all over his legs (which have scarred quite badly – I hope they will fade over time), he had a fever and started vomiting every time a new tooth came out. It still wasn’t as bad as colic though, probably because it was stretched out over a longer period of time. There are many solutions to teething and we’ve tried many of them – from Amber Beads to Teejel.

 

His favourite item was this Tommee Tippee Closer to Nature Teething Soother:

51SPpgE5vLL._SY300_.jpg

It allowed him to reach the back of his mouth with no issues and it came in a two pack (one for home and one for travel). I know many parents love Sophie the Giraffe and if you used one I’d love to hear if it worked or not. Sophie the Giraffe was one item that we could not afford and I recon this Tommee Tippee teether was a great substitute.

 

Was your teething experience easier or more difficult? What teething item couldn’t you live without? Let me know by commenting below.

 

Love and Blessings,

Lindsay Sign Off

17 thoughts on “Teething

  1. I have to say I have always used the Amber teething necklaces and have never had any problems with any of my kids teething thankfully. My youngest is now 18 months and has almost all of her teeth, she started teething at about 5 months her first ones started poking through. I swear by the Amber teething necklaces, but have heard they don’t work for everyone. It may be the necklace or it may be God not giving us too much to handle that has made teething not so bad for us. Our last baby had colic and acid reflux so bad for the first 4 or 5 months she screamed round the clock day in and day out and NEVER stopped. I thought I was going to lose my mind so bad that I made my husband get snipped lol! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I couldn’t believe it either. It could have been a side effect of the steroid injections I received during pregnancy due to my low amniotic fluid levels, but we’ll never know. How old is your little guy now? Haha! I saw the pic on Unsplash and knew it was perfect for the theme. Have a great day.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

