A - Z Challenge

Vacationing with Baby

V.jpg

We’ve been on quite a few vacations with and without baby over the years. We’ve travelled lots too, because Mr’s parents and family live in another state. We visit them a few times a year, but I’m not sure that counts as a vacation.

441

Our first real family holiday was held at Eikelaan Farm Cottages in Tulbagh, South Africa. The little one was a few months old at the time. What I loved about this place was that there were cows and sheep on the farm, we couldn’t pet them but Madam was very fascinated by it all. I definitely over packed for baby, because I had no idea what he needed and didn’t need. The two items I’m happy I packed was the camping cot and the Munchkin White Hot Inflatable Duck Tub, as there was no-where to bath a little baby in our cottage.

71YycTgH41L._SX522_.jpg

Munchkin White Hot Inflatable Duck

The second holiday I can remember was a stopover in a town called Upington, South Africa. We found it in a totally random Google search, because we weren’t supposed to be in Upington in the first place. We were on our way to Mr’s parents, tried a new route and got lost. If you’ve travelled with kids you know you can’t drive forever and it’s best if you can stop somewhere for them to stretch their legs. We loved the place we stayed at and it was owned by someone with the same surname as mine. Maybe it was fate. We had the whole house to ourselves and after a long day of driving a warm bath was so necessary.

20160227_163401.jpg

The last holiday we had was in March this year. It was the first holiday that my parents joined us. We went to Asher Riverside Cottages in Bonnievale, South Africa. It was a rustic and quiet farmhouse overlooking the river. What I loved about Asher was the peace we had from the hustle and bustle of the city. It was the perfect place to unwind. The little one loved running on the large shaded porch all day long. He even brought his toy cars to play. We were visited by the owner’s friendly Miniature Pinscher, who helped ease my feelings of missing my dogs Sam and Max. It was a really great vacation.

20160227_170126.jpg

Vacations here are always met with some hesitation, because we are a mixed race couple. Why would that be a factor? you ask. Well South Africa is celebrating 22 years of democracy after Apartheid, most urban areas have integrated but you may still run into some problems in smaller towns. When I was pregnant with the little one Mr took me on what’s known as a Baby Moon (one last holiday before baby arrives), we went to a town in the Northern Cape and the accommodation owner was quite shocked that we were together (she wanted to book us into two separate rooms). We left to get something to eat and returned a while later. At 6AM the next morning the owner unlocks our door with her master key, looks into the room and says “Oh! I didn’t know you people are still here”, yeah, you people. I don’t know if she thought we would leave without paying. The hotel room was gorgeous, but the treatment we received was horrible.

 

When we called for the Upington accommodation I asked the owner if they “accept mixed race couples” (doesn’t it sound ridiculous), Madam overheard me and asked “What are mixed-race couples?” “Mixed- race couples are like me and your Dad, we have different skin colours” I replied and she nodded. “So why do you have to tell people that?” She asked innocently, “Because some people don’t like to have people with a certain skin colour to stay at their place” I said, embarrassed. “That’s just silly! Don’t they know that they will still get paid”, sometimes I think kids are much smarter than adults.

 

So before we go on a vacation we ask “Do you accept mixed-race couples?” to avoid disappointment. We’ve been on some great vacations so far and I hope to make many more vacation memories with my children as they grow.

 

What is your favourite vacation memory with your children? Let me know by commenting below!

 

Love and Blessings,

Lindsay Sign Off

32 thoughts on “Vacationing with Baby

  1. I wonder what kind of reaction you would get if you first asked if they accepted same-race couples. Then, after they say, “Of course,” or some other version of yes, ask if they accept mixed-race couples and see how the answer differs or is the same. If the tone seems different, even if the answer’s yes, you might want to find some place else. If you’re satisfied with their answers, let them wonder which couple you’re part of until you get there. 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha. What a great way to mess with their minds. 🙂 Mixed race marriages and relationships were outlawed for such a long time. People accept it in the city, but it’s a bit difficult in smaller towns.

      Like

  2. Lindsay, lovely reading about your holiday destinations. 🙂 I am honestly shocked about the ‘mixed race couple’ issue. I thought all that nonsense was all over now, even in the small areas. Anyway, I am sorry you are having to deal with that.
    I know you are an incredibly busy lady, but I have nominated you for The Creative Blogger Award. Please check out the details on my latest blog post.
    https://lynnesrecipetrails.com/2016/04/26/the-creative-blogger-award-and-one-lovely-blog-award/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for the nomination, I feel so honored! I’ll have a look 🙂 You would think that it would be over by now, especially with people that have a room for hire. They should be prepared to welcome all sorts of customers.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. It’s crazy that is even an issue. I am so glad you shared. The way certain people think is scary and sad.
    On a lighter note, I understand about overpacking. I pack nothing for me and the baby’s entire closet! Have a great day!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You’ve made some lovely family memories with your travels. I’m shocked that in this day age people still have that attitude to mixed race couples (or anyone for that matter). Your little girl could certainly teach them a thing or two about how to run a business by the sound of it!
    Debbie

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

