Parenting

Lullabies

photo-1457932155913-ac4695f3edd1

I put the little one to bed earlier tonight and about an hour or so later he awoke with tears in his eyes. He approached me, sat on my lap and I started swaying my legs and singing a lullaby.

There is something magical about that moment. I love taking in the smell of his hair and skin and running my hand over the softness of his.

After a bit of singing and later humming, he drifted off into a peaceful sleep and I put him in his bed once more.

His lullaby of choice tonight is a traditional Zulu lullaby called Thula Baba. Mr is Sepedi, but this song is known by most South Africans. My step daughter sang this at her school choir eisteddfod last year so I know the lyrics quite well, but the tune is simple enough to hum too.

Here are the lyrics in both English and Zulu:

Keep quiet my child
Keep quiet my baby
Be quiet, daddy will be home by dawn
There’s a star that will lead him home
The star will brighten his way home
The hills and stones are still the same my love
My life has changed, yes my life has changed
The children grow but you don’t know my love
The children grew but you don’t see them grow

In Zulu

Thula thul, thula baba, thula sana,
Thul’u babuzo ficka, eku seni. (repeat)
Kukh’in khan-yezi, zi-holel’ u baba,
Zim-khan yi-sela indlel’e ziyak-haya,
Sobe sik hona xa bonke be-shoyo,
Be-thi bu-yela u-bu-ye le khaya,
Thula thula thula baba,
Thula thula thula sana,
Thula thula thula baba,
Thula thula thula san.

 

This rendition of Thula Baba by Kimmy Skota and Andre Rieu brought me to tears – watch it here

She sings in Zulu and Afrikaans and it is absolutely beautiful.

 

Does your child have a favourite lullaby? Let me know by commenting below!

 

I’d love to hear from you.

 

Love and Blessings,

Lindsay Sign Off

25 thoughts on “Lullabies

    1. It’s a lovely song. Thank you for the link, I like the country spin on the song. It sounds like a great lullaby, I’ll play it for the little one tomorrow. I know he’ll enjoy it. My grandfather used to call me Sunshine so this song means so much to me.

      Like

    1. I love ‘let her go’ its a better alternative to ‘let it go’, which my step daughter and friends would sing constantly during sleepovers. haha. I played your link for him and he was drawn to it instantly. Thanks for the link πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. E has her own action interpretation that is pretty darn fun, haha. My only struggle is that “itsy bitsy” and “ABC” sound a lot alike so I have to be looking at her to figure out which song she’s requesting.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: Love Songs

Leave a Reply

