Parenting

A Step-Mother’s Mother’s Day

inspirational-quotes-05-12.jpg

My heart goes out to Madam’s mom, because she had to spend last Mother’s Day without her daughter. I’ve been spending Mother’s Day without her for years, but it never gets easier. I reminded Madam to call her mother as soon as she awoke last Mother’s Day and helped her make a card so that she could text the picture to her. It was the least I could do for her mom.

Mother’s Day is the only day the two of us text each other. We aren’t enemies or anything, our relationship is civil and nothing more. I’m okay with that.

9ff89cd4a1d4b9784264e2c29c689030

This morning was spent without my step daughter, I thought I would be used to it by now, but I suppose it will get easier as time goes on. Mr called Madam’s mom and spoke to Madam as well. She said that he should wish me a happy Mother’s Day, but didn’t talk to me. I don’t blame her, because she isn’t really allowed to call me mother so she never knows if she should wish me or not.

e4a9a70770773fe5e6a91b77d818d45b.jpg

So I take Mother’s Day with a pinch of salt. No Mother’s Day has been the same for me, but I am always reminded of all the love in my life. I am also reminded that I should honour myself, because I hold the family together.

6fef3a9b15e41d1202f60d0608fcbc3e.jpg

To all step-mothers on Mother’s Day I would like to say thank you for loving someone else’s children as if they were your own. Hold your head up high and be proud of all you do as a step-mother. You are a wonderful role model of unconditional love. Don’t be disheartened if you didn’t receive the recognition you deserve on this day, because you are a warrior shrouded in strength and one day of the year can’t take that from you.

2657e62121e8aefe55b6740ecfb25acb.jpg

I would like to extend a warm Mother’s Day wish to all mothers and all those who have shown motherly love. You are a blessing!

 

How has your Mother’s Day been so far? Let me know by commenting below.

 

Love and Blessings,

Lindsay Sign Off

10 thoughts on “A Step-Mother’s Mother’s Day

  1. Happy Mother’s Day to you. I am fortunate to have my stepdaughters wish me happy mother’s day along with my two. But being a stepmother only got to be easier when I let go of needing to be seen as the “mother” when they were with us. Now that they are young women it’s better.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m letting go of the illusion of being seen as the “mother” and letting her mother have her space to raise her the way she wishes. Most people say it gets better after you have your “own” child, but I still think about her on this day. I suppose a mother never forgets about all her children, no matter where they are. I hope you had a wonderful Mother’s Day 🙂 Thank you for sharing a moment of your day with me and giving me a sense of hope for future Mother’s Days. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Happy Mother’s Day to you, Lindsay! I was a lucky step mom today and was showered with love from my munchkins along with homemade cards and a heartfelt card from their mother. Today was the best mother’s day I’ve had in 6 years!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I made a card from scratch for my step mother and I found out today that she put the card in the drawer. She told me she never received it but I think she may have taken my card the wrong way. On the outside it was very pretty. There were roses and it said Happy Mother’s Day with lots of Love. On the inside on pretty pink paper and the poem I wrote. Keep in mind that and 52 years old and this was my 2nd step mother of which they started dating when I was 16 and I never had a relationship with her until the pass 15 years. They have been married 18 years. This was my poem.
    You are not my Mother
    You are my father’s Wife.
    But over the years you’ve been a part of my life.
    When I was young you made me mad
    Because I thought you were stealing my dad.
    You have taken care of him
    through thick and thin
    So I guess in the long run we all win.
    You are not my Mother
    As I said before
    You are my Step Mom
    I LOVE and ADORE.
    When I was 16 I was visiting my dad and he left me with my grandma so he could go out with her. I only went to my dad’s every other week so it upset me. I love her but she is not my Mother and will never replace her. I call her by her first name and have never called her mom. Maybe I am wrong to be upset that she lied about getting it when it was written with truth and love. What did I do wrong?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You may not have done anything wrong. People take step parenting differently. I am a completely different step mother to the one Mr had. Maybe she stepped away, because she didn’t want to impose on your life as a mother would. Your poem is very sweet. I have no idea why she lied, but she had her reasons. Don’t beat yourself up about it, because you did something out of the goodness of your heart. ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

