Lindsay's Life

Stumbled Upon: How Do Homeless Women Handle Menstruation

2a8154df9bdd4de9ab8417bcc48c5293

How do homeless women handle menstruation is something that I’ve wondered about for the longest time. My time of the month isn’t enjoyable and I’m empathetic towards women who are homeless or live in shelters. Sanitary pads are expensive and our government is moving to remove the tax on them so that they are afforable for all.

The Kindness Challenge has opened me to seeing opportunities of kindess and being kind to myself and others.

I’ve collaborated with my Grandmother’s church and they have drives a few times a year. Last year we donated various sanitary items to Rainbow of Hope.

I’d like to work with/ donate to The Saartje Baartman Centre for Women and Children or The Haven in Cape Town this year.

Here’s the article that inspired this post –Women 24.com – How do Homeless Women Handle Menstruation.

 

Spare a thought for a homeless woman, a small act can make a bit impact.

 

Love and Blessings,

Lindsay Sign Off

38 thoughts on “Stumbled Upon: How Do Homeless Women Handle Menstruation

  1. I do hope they remove the tax on them. Its not a whole lot of savings – but it helps. They also have reduced the amount they put in a package over the years. Its insane. How awesome that this non-profit is working to make sure that homeless women have a necessity!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I read the last article link you posted Women24.com and it breaks my heart that things like this happen in this world. And the cops actually take there stuff and sell it, unbelievable. Its interesting the things we take for granted. Whenever we think we are worse off, there is always someone that has it worse than us and vice versa. Thanks for the sobering reminder.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve just read the original article that inspired your post. It’s something we don’t think about and yet this issue is so real for these women who have so little. Thanks for raising our awareness Lindsay.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Mmm, yes, I think we tend to forget that it’s not just at those times that they’re in need. Such a sad situation and I’m glad you shared to raise awareness. Now for some action …

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you for this Lindsay. xxx
    At the Dischem at the mall where I live, there often is an awareness where you pay R10 extra, and that money goes towards purchasing sanitary pads for the less fortunate. So often we need that gentle reminder. Every little bit helps.
    Have a lovely weekend. xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I need to look out for that at our local Dischem as well. Thanks for making me aware of this. It flooded here this morning and we are without a telephone (landline) and internet. I just bought data now I need to catch up on a day πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I hope things get sorted your side, and that the floods did not cause any severe damage anywhere. It seems like we are in for a rainy weekend, I just wish it would rain where it is truly needed. Have a lovely weekend πŸ™‚

        Like

  5. Hi!
    I’ve recently started a blog and its going to be exploring a lot of different topics because its my primary outlet for thought and we (humans) are complicated creatures with many feelings and opinions, but one of the topics I would LOVE to explore with others is menstruation. I think its insane that something that over half the world experiences first hand is still considered “taboo” and would like to start getting it into the spotlight. I only got started o this project a few days ago, and I’m not a pro with blogging or wordpress, so feel free to follow or comment or contact me with suggestions.

    The plan is to start with my own experiences, maybe throw in a few period promotional works, but eventually (when there is a certain level of interest), I would like to start sharing and reblogging other peoples stories and views, through a category called “My menstrual miracles”

    I can see how this would seem like a lot of self promotion, but I really would love to get some support and suggestions on how to break this stigma.

    https://beantheredonethat94.wordpress.com

    So check it out (or don’t)
    but keep being badasses, that are taking control of both their bodies and the internet! xxx
    Elizabeth Rose

    Like

    1. Hi there! Congratulations on starting your blog. It’s really exciting and enjoyable. I can’t wait to check out your blog. I’m quite liberal with talking about menstruation, pregnancy, childbirth and contraception so we’re on the same wavelength. I hope we can become great friends. Your blog sounds awesome already. Have a fantastic day!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

