Huskies

Siberian Saturday: Potty Training

2011-05-22174706.jpg

I’ve stumbled upon this great tip from The Canine Training Center’s post – Save your Lawn from Dog Feces and Urination Potty Area How To.

I haven’t ever seen anyone using this method of potty training a dog before, let alone using mulch for a potty area. It fit right in to my current way of thinking (I’m investigating composting toilets) and if it’s good for us, why wouldn’t it be good for my pooches too?

They’ve pretty much demarkated an area of our yard as the toilet area anyway so I’m super stoked to get this started.

What do you think? Do you have any pet potty training tips to share? Let me know by commenting below.

 

Love,

Lindsay Sign Off

7 thoughts on “Siberian Saturday: Potty Training

  1. Hugh was already trained when he came to me, but when I had kittens or cats, I always started by putting them in the litter box and saying, “This is where you poop.” Maybe it’s because cats are naturally more fastidious than dogs (I’ve never seen a CAT try to eat poop… lol), but every single cat I had living in the house over the decades, would sit right down and go! And never miss after that.

    I once rescued a 4 week old kitten whose mother had left it behind when she moved the other 4. I showed the little one where to go, and he did. A week later, the mother brought me the other 4, one at a time, and watched very happily while I brushed them and took them inside. The amazing thing was that the first one showed the others how to use the box.

    Liked by 2 people

      1. Haha! I think cats are more fastidious than dogs, and that results in quicker potty training. But I’m sure dogs respond to consistent training. I hope yours learn quickly. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

