step parenting

Stepmom Sunday: Getting Involved

Stepmom Sunday Getting Involved.jpg

I decided to get as involved as possible in my stepdaughter’s life early on in our relationship. I met her when she was just about to start Grade R, which is the grade before first grade here in South Africa. I knew that this was one of the best and easiest ways to cement a relationship with Madam.

We started learning the ABCs together, and then I taught her how to read, spell and write in cursive. It was a magical time for both of us and it took some of the pressure off her parents as they work full time.

As soon as she signed up for extra-murals at school all of us attended as many of her recitals and matches as possible. I enjoyed many ballet open days and Saturday morning recitals. I was there when she scored her first goal in netball and played her first guitar tune at the school’s Cultural Evening. Mr and I attended late night choir eisteddfods and school fetes. I helped her with her homework in the afternoon while her parents were working and all this made us closer.

This may seem like I’ve overstepped my ‘boundaries’ as a stepmom, but Mr believes there are no boundaries. He always reminds me that I can be exactly the mother I want to be and I set the tone for my relationship with my stepdaughter.

Where she sees and receives love, she will give love. This journey wasn’t easy and there were many wobbles along the way, but the older my stepdaughter gets the more she knows that I will always be there for her to support her in everything that she does.

 

Let’s show our stepchildren that we care this week by really getting involved in something that they enjoy or do something together.

 

Don’t forget to comment below. I’d love to hear from you!

 

Love and Blessings,

Lindsay Sign Off

16 thoughts on “Stepmom Sunday: Getting Involved

  1. Awwww this was so sweet to read lol. I thinks its really great that you are so involved in your step daughter’s life. You both will get closer together and that’s important in a child development. Knowing someone is there and care for them. They are young and they need that. Everyone at some time needs someone. You are doing such a wonderful job at being a mom and this advice can really help others. Thank you so much for sharing 🙂

    Like

  2. This is lovely! When my ex and I were together I wasn’t allowed a relationship with his son and he didn’t know his dad had been in a relationship for 4 years! I was desperate for a relationship with the biggest part of my partners life!
    It’s lovely to read how close you are with your step daughter!

    Like

  3. I think this is wonderful. I had a rocky relationship with my Step mom growing up, but it’s wonderful now. We worked through our stuff and we are very close today. I’m glad that your step daughter wont have to wait that long. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Lindsay isn’t that what ever human craves? Love, support, a net for when we fall. How brilliant of you to put your feelings for her up front and be those things for her. How lucky a little girl to have multiple parents who love and care for her.

    Like

Leave a Reply

