Uncategorized

Storm #ShortStory

Ronel the Mythmaker

It might be a bit of wishful thinking, but here’s something new for you to read. It works nicely with the rain we’re having this morning.

Storm

By Ronel Janse van Vuuren

Papers crinkle like thunder. Maybe I’m just too sensitive while I’m waiting on a response. After all, this could be the start of something new for my career. Or not.

I swallow heavily in the silence. I refuse to give in to the demands of my ant-filled legs and pace the room. More paper-thunder makes me grind my teeth.

The reader lifts her eyebrows in surprise as her eyes fly over the pages. My heart beats faster, ever faster, as the paper-thunder gets louder and the pages of the manuscript become fewer.

Wooshing wind joins the storm in the office; I realise that it’s me: I’m hyperventilating. The storm suddenly stops. The reader looks at me approvingly. Or…

View original post 103 more words

One thought on “Storm #ShortStory

Leave a Reply

