Lindsay's Life

A Post Birthday Tribute To My Dad

20161113_142836

It was my father’s birthday yesterday and I was so happy and blessed to spend and celebrate another birthday with him. We were always and still are very close. He has been so inspirational to me throughout my life. He always strives to better himself in every way and takes every opportunity to learn something new. I have to admire how he seems to keep up with trends and knows the latest slang sayings, even some that I don’t know.

I know that his life hasn’t been an easy one and his health has failed at times (cancer and diabetes), but he is still here for us. My dad always lends an ear and is willing to help out when there’s a problem. I love my dad so much and hope to spend many more happy birthdays with him.

 

Here are my top ten lessons I’ve learned from my dad:

  1. Work hard.

  2. Reward yourself for hard work.

  3. Keep a diary of what you did, what you have to do and what you spent for the day.

  4. Value your time.

  5. Know when to take a break.

  6. Put your family and God first.

  7. Don’t be afraid to try something new.

  8. Set your goals.

  9. Be thankful.

  10. It’s okay to cry.

 

What are your dad’s best qualities? What have you learned from your dad? Let me know by commenting below!

 

Love and Blessings,

sign-off

 

16 thoughts on “A Post Birthday Tribute To My Dad

  1. I am fortunate that my dad is in my life too and I can spend birthdays with him :). He is always there to listen whether he agrees or not. He’s taught me how to be hardworking, to set goals for myself, to put God first and the rest will take care of itself, to pursue what I am passionate and good at :). That it’s okay to not have it all together and taking a break is okay :).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Your father sounds like a phenomenal man :). Those are so many great lessons. I love that he taught you that it’s okay not to have it all together. I need to remind myself of that sometimes. Thank you for reading this and commenting. I appreciate it! Happy holidays to you and your family. ❀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Happy Belated Birthday to your dad Lindsay. It is beautiful that you were able to spend his birthday with him, it must have been so special for both of you.
    I learnt so many lessons from my dad. He was one special and dynamic man πŸ™‚ and there is not a day that goes by that I do not miss him. xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much. It was lovely, I appreciate him so much especially now that he is older. He is such a loving grandfather as well. Losing a parent must be so difficult. I am glad you have so many happy memories of your dad. I’ll be thinking of you ❀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

