Uncategorized

Children’s Book Writing Tips For Stories Kids Will Love!

Yesterday’s A to Z Challenge post on my new blog Lindsay Lovin Life. Let me know what you think ❤

Children's Book Writing Tips For Stories Kids Will Love.jpgC

I’ve self-published 29 children’s books and written many more that are yet to be published. Writing for children is a passion for me, but it hasn’t been as easy as it seemed or as easy as people expect it to be. The reason why I love writing for children is because my books may form part of a child’s early development. I adore the thought that one or more of my characters will become a child’s first close friend. This passion continues to grow as I learn and study the genre and I’m so excited to share my tips with you, an aspiring Children’s book author.

  1. Step into your childlike mind
  2. Read picture and children’s books constantly
  3. Choose an age group
  4. Choose a theme and reveal it through your story
  5. Shift your focus from teaching your reader a lesson outright, reveal the message through situations and dialogue instead
  6. Get to know…

View original post 265 more words

7 thoughts on “Children’s Book Writing Tips For Stories Kids Will Love!

  1. I took a children’s book writing course once and the instructor, on my first assignment thought I’d plagiarized another book. It hurt. My story had been based on personal experience and I told him so. I checked out the book he said it was like and yes there were similarities, but I could never get back in the program after that. How do you know if someone else had a similar idea? I’ve heard in writing that ideas are a dime a dozen, but the execution of the idea is what changes the competition.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so sorry that you had to go through that. I took a course by Nic Dawes (How to write a book in 30 days or less) and it says that there are no new ideas, but no one can write a book the way you would. There are similar ideas in writing, in advertising, movies and TV, but your uniqueness makes the story unique. Maybe you should try and self-publish the story.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

