Uncategorized

Exposition Excellence: What It Is, How To Use It and Bonus Tips!

How to seamlessly introduce exposition in your story over on my new blog Lindsay Lovin’ Life

Exposition Excellence.jpgE.jpg

I have to admit that I have a love-hate relationship with exposition. I try my best not to bore my reader to tears with unimportant information and use more show, don’t tell in my stories. Here’s what I’ve learnt about exposition and how to incorporate it into a story so you and I can use it to our advantage.

What is exposition?

Exposition is to include background information, setting, backstories and plot events within dialogue. It may also be known as ‘show don’t tell’.

Exposition Tips:

  • The number one rule of exposition is that it should benefit the reader.
  • The reader is always interested in the plot first, the exposition is secondary.
  • Present the information in the quickest, most condensed way possible.
  • Start by writing as much exposition in your paragraph and edit most of it in the end.
  • If you are unsure if the dialogue works, read it aloud.
  • Expositions can…

View original post 658 more words

Leave a Reply

