Uncategorized

X-Factor – What Makes A Writer Great?

What makes a writer a great one? Do you have the characteristics? Find out if you have the X-Factor on my latest blog post over at Lindsay Lovin’ Life!

X - factor What makes a writer greatX

The best thing about being a writer is the ability to express yourself through an idea and take that idea and transform it into words, sentences and paragraphs. I’m passionate about writing and reading, this is one thing that followed me through the multiple awkward stages of my life, where I failed to belong or fit in. A book always made me feel safe, wanted and important, so it’s no surprize that I’ve become a writer. But what makes a writer great? What qualities do they possess? What gives them that X-factor?

They pay attention to detail:

They are always scrutinizing their work for mistakes and ways they could improve sentence structure.

They have discipline:

Great writers work tirelessly to improve their writing.

They express themselves clearly:

They convey their thoughts clearly, in a way that their reader can understand.

They possess a large vocabulary:

Great writers have a vast…

View original post 248 more words

4 thoughts on “X-Factor – What Makes A Writer Great?

    1. I don’t read as much as I would like, but I’ll say this (and it’s my opinion, I’m not sure if it is the same for everyone), when I read I feel more inspired. I love taking in the words an author uses and how they convey what’s happening to the reader. If I don’t enjoy a book I analyse why and what I would have done differently.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I throw out some rubbish and people tell me it’s really good but I’m sure they’re being kind.
        I had one reader tell me it was impossible to be a good writer if you didn’t read.
        I have never read but one book in my life and that was under duress.

        Like

Leave a Reply

