Uncategorized

Writing Wednesday – How To Come Up With An Idea For Your Book

Always wanted to write a book, but have no clue on where to start? Check out my method on finding an idea for your book and expanding it into a workable topic to form part of a series or incorporate into a fiction piece. You don’t want to miss it!

How To Come Up With An Idea For Your Book

Everyone has an idea for a book in them, you may think you can’t write, or you aren’t accomplished enough or that you simply have nothing to write about. Others may feel like you really want to write a book, but you don’t know how. Finding an idea on what to write is the first step!

Sources of inspiration for your book can come from what you do for a living, what you do daily, your hobbies, interests, goals, past experiences or life experiences as a whole. Think about what someone would find interesting to read. What can you give advice about?

Have you:

  • Overcome bullying
  • Gotten Married
  • Proposed to someone
  • Dealt with loss
  • Overcome depression or anxiety
  • Bought a house
  • Sold a house
  • Paid off your debt
  • Moved away from home
  • Fixed a house
  • Adopted a pet
  • Adopted a baby
  • Had a baby
  • Raised children
  • Raised a step-child
  • Found…

View original post 346 more words

10 thoughts on “Writing Wednesday – How To Come Up With An Idea For Your Book

  1. I wrote a book last year during NaNoWriMo, and I have not touched it since. Although I think about it from time to time and ideas for others. I think the pressure to make it perfect is what it holding me back. Also the negative voice that says my idea is not good enough or no one will want to read this. I need to figure out how to quiet the negative talk.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I just wrote as much as I could, I didn’t stop. It is possible, my strategy was not to worry about editing or going back to fix anything until late. The only thing is later didnt come. This year I am going to be more prepared. Have you thought about doing it? It was a lot of fun!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I am definitely going into this years NaNo with a plan. Like last year I had rough idea, but this year I would like to have a better outline. I am not even sure what I am going to write about so I need to have a brainstorm because I really want to do it again last year. It got my creative juices going! Do you have any idea for this year?

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I have a few ideas floating around, but nothing concrete yet. Maybe I’ll outline them and save them up in time for NaNoWriMo. Not sure if I will stay in my genre or try something new. How does it work exactly?

        Liked by 1 person

      4. You just sign up on the website and enter your book name, and goal. Then you start writing and you can update your progress on the site throughout the month. There is usually a team in your area who will help support you along the way and other friends (like me) that you can add and we can help motivate eachother. My favorite thing is the inspirational letters written by people who have done it in the past and successfully published their books. Very motivational. But if you are interested in learning more you can always join the website now and have a poke around.

        Like

Leave a Reply

