Writing

Writing Wednesday: Can you get rich quick by self-publishing?

Can you get rich quick by self publishing.jpg

*Disclaimer: This is my experience of self-publishing. I admit that I’m not the most successful self-published author in the world. I’m just telling the story from my perspective and experience over this past year.

I’m so happy to post this and get this off my chest. This has been bothering me so much lately that I can hardly finish a drawing tonight. Maybe now that I’ve put my feelings into words, my creativity can be unblocked and I can start drawing again.

I recently got a mail from someone asking how much I make as a self-published author and whether they could get rich quickly as a stay at home mom also publishing on Amazon.

I’m sure you can get rich quickly on Amazon and I’m sure there are many people who have done so, but I’m not one of them. I’ve only received one cheque from Amazon so far, but I keep writing.

Writing children’s stories or stories in general is more than a pay cheque or a review or a pat on the back or something to do while I stay at home and raise the kids.

It’s something that I wake up for every single day. I fight to make time and sacrifice time away from my family and my man so that I can write and illustrate books that will make children happy.

I try my best to learn new skills that improve both my writing and my illustrating.

I spend weekends writing and drawing. You’ll probably find me at the laptop at 3AM on a Saturday putting the finishing touches on a book before I publish it.

It has not been a get rich quick thing for me at all, in fact it is the longest, hardest thing I’ve ever tried to do, but it’s worth it to me.

I believe that no matter what happened in my life, I would still yearn to write.

It is tough and competitive and fickle, but it’s my life. Writing is my choice.

It is who I am and who I always wanted to be.

Self-publish if you believe in your content. Believe in yourself. If you are doing it for the money, you might be disappointed.

Being a writer is tough; you need to love it to stick with it.

I love it and I’ll stick with it.

The money will come, because my passion and dedication will always be there.

 

Please don’t hesitate to comment on this post. I’d love to hear from you!

 

Love and Blessings,

Lindsay Sign Off

17 thoughts on “Writing Wednesday: Can you get rich quick by self-publishing?

  1. You are so fortunate to be have found and to be able to do something you love. Because of your passion and dedication, the financial rewards will come, but you are already receiving far greater rewards! I wish you all the best, and please know that you are such an inspiration to me. Thank you for sharing your story.
    ~kay

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Write your story my dear friend. Your journey is something that we will be blessed to read. 🙂 I’m saying that if anyone is doing it for quick money, they will probably disappointed. Write your story, because you believe everyone should hear it and you will have success. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Totally in agreement, thank you for posting this, as many people do get the wrong idea, it is as you say a passion money is important to all of us, but this is not a get rich quick scheme as you pointed out. It is the pure pleasure of being able to do, what you want to do when you want to (sort of ) !!! Great needed post…..

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Beautiful post! Something tells me your time is coming, Lindsay! I, for one, will definitely spread the word – your books are gorgeous! Your passion for writing and drawing definitely comes through in your books.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment